Cities
Tennis ladders in Tampa
The Tampa singles ladder on Deuce Ladder is open and free to join. You pick your opponent and agree on a court between you. The City of Tampa’s neighborhood hard courts cost nothing and run first come, first served from sunrise to sunset. For clay, the city’s Sandra W. Freedman Tennis Complex has 8 courts at $6.45 a player in prime time. From June to September, more than 6 inches of rain falls in a normal month.

Tampa at a glance
| On Deuce | Live count |
|---|---|
| Ladders in Tampa | 1 |
| Active players (last 30 days) | 0 |
| Matches played (last 30 days) | 0 |
Ten players is enough to start a ladder. Courts are easy to find in Tampa; an opponent at your level is the open question. Look at the Tampa standings or the ladder directory before you count on a match.
Where you would play
Public tennis in Tampa comes in two kinds. The city runs one staffed clay complex, which you pay to book, and a string of neighborhood hard courts, which you walk onto for free. Temple Terrace, St. Petersburg, Clearwater, Largo, Dunedin and Treasure Island each run their own courts too.
For a full best-of-three, a court you can book for two hours or more is the safe choice. The table lists facilities, not open court time, and every row comes from the operator’s own page. Fees are per player, per hour, unless the row says otherwise. “Not stated” means the operator’s own pages did not give that detail on October 29, 2026.
| Venue | Area | Courts | Surface | Lights | Booking | Adult fee |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sandra W. Freedman Tennis Complex (Tampa) | 59 Columbia Dr | 8 | Clay | Not stated; staffed to 9 p.m. weekdays | Online or phone; from noon the day before, up to 2.5 hours | $6.45 prime time, $5.38 off-peak |
| Julian B. Lane Riverfront Park (Tampa) | 1001 N Boulevard | 6 | Hard | Not stated; sunrise to sunset | First come, first served | No fee listed |
| Cal Dickson courts (Tampa) | 4011 W Watrous Ave | 8 | Hard | Not stated; sunrise to sunset | First come, first served; 2 courts used by an instructor | No fee listed |
| Rowlett Park (Tampa) | 2401 E Yukon St | 4 | Hard | Not stated; sunrise to sunset | First come, first served; 1 court used by an instructor | No fee listed |
| Himes Avenue Sports Complex (Tampa) | 4501 S Himes Ave | 4 | Hard | Not stated; sunrise to sunset | First come, first served; 2 courts used by instructors | No fee listed |
| Copeland Park (Tampa) | 11001 N 15th St | 3 | Hard | Not stated; sunrise to sunset | First come, first served | No fee listed |
| MacFarlane Park (Tampa) | 1700 N MacDill Ave | 2 | Hard | Not stated; sunrise to sunset | First come, first served; 1 court used by an instructor | No fee listed |
| Forest Hills Park (Tampa) | 724 W 109th Ave | 2 | Hard | Not stated; sunrise to sunset | First come, first served | No fee listed |
| Hard Courts Tennis Center (Temple Terrace) | 10901 Richlyne St | 6 | Hard | Yes; to 9 p.m. weekdays | First come, first served; 90 minutes if others wait | Free |
| Family Recreation Complex (Temple Terrace) | 6610 Whiteway Dr | 6 | Clay | Not stated | Members only, by phone, up to 2 days ahead | Annual membership: $150 resident, $300 nonresident |
| St. Petersburg Tennis Center | Bartlett Park, 650 18th Ave S | 20 | Har-Tru | Not stated; open to 8:30 p.m. weekdays | Members 48 hours ahead; public booking online | $15 per nonmember |
| Fossil Park (St. Petersburg) | 6635 Dr. Martin L. King Jr. St N | 4 | Not stated | Not stated | Parks & Rec Connect online, or the athletics office | $10 an hour to reserve; per court or per player not stated |
| Henry L. McMullen Tennis Complex (Clearwater) | 1000 Edenville Ave | Not stated | Clay and hard | Yes | By phone, in 2-hour blocks | Not stated; Recreation Card required for add-on booking |
| Largo Tennis Center | 13120 Vonn Rd, Largo | 8 | Clay | Yes | Online reservation | Not stated |
| Treasure Bay Golf & Tennis (Treasure Island) | Treasure Island | 10 | 8 Har-Tru, 2 asphalt | Not stated; open to 9 p.m. weekdays | Online, up to 48 hours ahead | Clay $12 per player for up to 2 hours; asphalt free, $6 to reserve |
| Highlander and Fisher courts (Dunedin) | 1937 Ed Eckert Dr | 8 | Hard | Not stated; open 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. | First come, first served | Free |
City of Tampa: the Freedman complex and the free hard courts
The Sandra W. Freedman Tennis Complex on Columbia Drive is Tampa’s staffed clay site, with 8 courts and a practice wall. It is open until 9 p.m. on weekdays and 6 p.m. on weekends. Prime time runs 9 a.m. to noon and 4 p.m. to 9 p.m. on weekdays. On weekends it runs 8 a.m. to noon and 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. An adult pays $6.45 per person in prime time and $5.38 off-peak, so a prime-time singles hour costs the two of you $12.90. The city’s tennis page, which lists those rates, was last updated in January 2026.
Without an annual permit, book from noon the day before, for up to 2.5 hours, through the city’s online system or by phone. Permit holders book seven days out. The adult annual pass is $460.
The city’s other courts are hard, free and unbookable. They open at sunrise and close at sunset, which makes them a weekend-morning court more than a weeknight one. At several sites a contracted instructor holds one or two courts, so fewer are open for a match. Cal Dickson, on West Watrous Avenue, has the most, with 8.
Temple Terrace and Hillsborough County: lit courts after work
For a weeknight match after work, try Temple Terrace. Its Hard Courts Tennis Center on Richlyne Street has six lit courts, free to anyone, open to 9 p.m. on weekdays. If people are waiting, you get 90 minutes. That’s tight for a full best-of-three. Temple Terrace’s six clay courts are for members of its Family Recreation Complex only.
Hillsborough County lists tennis courts in its parks as well. Town ’N Country Park, Egypt Lake Recreation Center and Roy Haynes Park are among those it marks as lit. The county doesn’t publish court counts, surfaces or fees for them, so see the courts before you name one in a challenge.
Across the bay: St. Petersburg and Pinellas County
The St. Petersburg Tennis Center in Bartlett Park has 20 Har-Tru courts, the most of any venue on this page. Members book up to 48 hours ahead. A nonmember pays a $15 court fee per player and can book through the center’s public booking option.
The City of St. Petersburg reserves its own park courts, such as the four at Fossil Park, for $10 an hour through Parks & Rec Connect. The city says it has 60 lit tennis courts in all.
Elsewhere in Pinellas, Largo Tennis Center has eight lit clay courts. Clearwater’s McMullen complex has clay and hard courts, lit at night, booked by phone in two-hour blocks. Treasure Bay on Treasure Island charges $12 a player for up to two hours on its 8 Har-Tru courts. Dunedin’s eight hard courts at Highlander Park are free and open until 10 p.m.
When you can play
The courts stay put all year; the hours you’d want on them don’t. You can play in Tampa in any month, though summer is harder. From October to May the airport averages under 3 inches of rain a month. From June to September it gets more than 6 inches a month, and most days top 90°F. The federal climate normals for Tampa International Airport, averaged over 1991 to 2020, show the pattern.
| Months | Normal high | Normal low | Rain a month | Days at 90°F or hotter | What it means for a match |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| December to February | 71 to 74°F | 53 to 56°F | About 2.6 in | None | Prime season; cool mornings |
| March and April | 78 to 83°F | 59 to 65°F | About 2.5 in | About 1 in all | Prime season |
| May | 88°F | 71°F | 2.6 in | 10 | Dry and hot; play early |
| June to September | 90 to 91°F | 75 to 77°F | 6.1 to 9.0 in | About 79 in all | Early mornings, keep a backup date |
| October and November | 79 to 86°F | 61 to 69°F | 2.3 in, 1.4 in | About 4 in all | November is the driest month |
The National Weather Service office for Tampa Bay dates the rainy season from May 15 to October 15 in Southwest Florida and from May 25 to October 10 in the rest of West Central Florida. At the airport, June through September bring 61 percent of the year’s rain, and July and August each average about 11 days with a tenth of an inch or more.
When a storm comes through, the weather service says to wait 30 minutes after the last thunder before going back on court. The Atlantic hurricane season runs June 1 to November 30.
How a ladder works here
Daylight and weather set the limits on a Tampa ladder match. The free city courts close at sunset, and summer brings rain and lightning. A weeknight match needs a lit court or a staffed center that stays open late.
At Freedman, a non-permit booking can run 2.5 hours, room for a full best-of-three. Temple Terrace’s free lit courts cap play at 90 minutes when people are waiting. If you may not finish there, agree a shorter format your ladder accepts before you start.
From June to September, play early and name a backup date when you accept. If a storm hits, pick a new date inside the 30-day play window. The challenger books the court unless the two of you agree otherwise.
These are Deuce’s defaults. An organizer can change the challenge range, both windows and the rematch cooldown; your ladder’s rules show any change.
| Rule | Default |
|---|---|
| Challenge range | Five rungs up. Rung 6 may challenge rung 1 |
| Response window | 5 days |
| Play window | 30 days from acceptance |
| First challenge | One unrestricted challenge inside your own level band. Always on |
| Rematch cooldown | 14 days. Playing someone else does not shorten it |
| Absence | Up to 21 days. You keep your rung and cannot be challenged |
| Inactivity | Points decay every 30 days without a played match. Your rung is released at 180 days and you are withdrawn at 365 |
If you leave town for part of the summer, mark a 21-day absence. You keep your rung, and nobody can challenge you while it runs. The full ruleset is on the rules page, scoring explains how a score is confirmed, and the glossary defines rung and level band.
Levels and where you start
Three rating systems turn up in Tampa. USTA League teams are built on NTRP, and a new player self-rates to join. Ultimate Tennis converts your USTA level into its own 13 levels in Tampa Bay. The UTR flex leagues group players by UTR. USTA says the World Tennis Number is not used for USTA League play.
Deuce takes any of them, or a club level. You don’t need one. Without one, you describe your game and we place you. Two rules decide where you land.
- When we are unsure, you start high. If you could be a 3.5 or a 4.0, you go in as a 4.0.
- Your first challenge corrects it. You get one unrestricted challenge anywhere in your level band, so one played match fixes a bad placement.
The rating conversion table lines the systems up, and the NTRP rating chart shows what each NTRP level looks like on court.
How competitive tennis is organized in Tampa
Before you join anything, it helps to know what else is out there. Tampa already has a long-running singles ladder, several flex leagues and USTA team tennis. Each is described from its own page as of October 29, 2026. None of the public venues above publishes a ladder of its own.
The one other singles challenge ladder we found is the MP Tennis Ladder, run by the MP Tennis & Sports shop on North Dale Mabry Highway and now in its 54th season. It covers Tampa and Hillsborough County, co-ed, with an A ladder for 4.5 and up and a B ladder for 4.5 and down. You can challenge anyone within 20 spots, and you must report a match every two-week period or drop to the bottom. Seasons run March to August and September to February, with open sign-up, and entry is $25 in the store or $30 online.
TennisTampaBay.com, part of Tennis League Network, runs seasonal singles leagues in which players arrange their own matches and courts. Its next two seasons run December 8 to February 7 and February 16 to April 11.
On UTR, the Tampa Tennis Flex Leagues ask for four verified UTR matches over five weeks for singles. The next singles session runs November 11 to December 15, with division fees from $35.99 to $49.12.
Ultimate Tennis sells Tampa Bay flex leagues with an assigned weekly schedule. Its fall singles leagues cost $39 for five or seven matches and are on a wait list.
The USTA League is run by USTA Florida. Tampa falls in the Hillsborough and Polk local area, and St. Petersburg in the Pinellas, Manatee and Sarasota area. Teams play at NTRP levels, and the local coordinator publishes the schedule. Each team needs a home facility, and every player needs a USTA membership, $44 a year for an adult.
Advantage Tampa Bay, a gay-friendly nonprofit league, runs co-ed doubles team tennis in spring and fall for about $75 a season, plus $30 a year in membership.
Most of these run in seasons. Deuce runs an open-ended ladder with no season to wait for, a 5-day response window and a 30-day play window, and it costs players nothing. It doesn’t book courts or set fixtures, and it can’t promise the match gets played. A USTA league fits better if you want a captain and a weekly team lineup, and a flex league suits players who would rather be handed a set number of matches. The guide to adult tennis leagues compares the formats.
Questions
Is there a tennis ladder in Tampa?
Yes. Deuce runs the Tampa singles ladder, which is open-ended and free to join. MP Tennis & Sports runs the MP Tennis Ladder, a co-ed singles ladder with two seasons a year; entry is $25 in the store or $30 online. TennisTampaBay.com, Ultimate Tennis and the UTR flex leagues run seasonal leagues, and USTA Florida runs team leagues.
Are public tennis courts free in Tampa?
Most City of Tampa courts are. Its neighborhood hard courts list no fee and run first come, first served from sunrise to sunset. The Sandra W. Freedman complex is the exception: its clay courts cost an adult $6.45 per person in prime time and $5.38 off-peak. Temple Terrace’s lit hard courts are free too.
How do I reserve a tennis court in Tampa?
Only the Freedman complex takes bookings among the city’s courts. Book online or by phone from noon the day before, for up to 2.5 hours, unless you hold an annual permit. You can’t reserve the neighborhood hard courts, and a Deuce challenge doesn’t reserve a court for you.
Which Tampa tennis courts have lights?
The city’s neighborhood hard courts close at sunset. Temple Terrace’s Hard Courts Tennis Center has six lit courts open to 9 p.m. on weekdays. Hillsborough County marks Town ’N Country, Egypt Lake and Roy Haynes parks as lit. Across the bay, Largo and Clearwater’s McMullen complex have lit courts.
Can you play tennis in Tampa in the summer?
Yes, if you go early. From June to September, normal highs sit at 90 to 91°F, and the airport gets 6 to 9 inches of rain a month. Storms bring lightning. Book the first slot of the day, name a backup date, and use the 30-day play window when a storm cancels a match.
Where can I play on clay in Tampa Bay?
In Tampa itself, the Sandra W. Freedman complex has 8 clay courts. The St. Petersburg Tennis Center has 20 Har-Tru courts, and nonmembers pay $15. Largo has eight lit clay courts, Treasure Bay charges $12 a player for up to two hours on 8 Har-Tru courts, and Clearwater’s McMullen complex has clay as well as hard courts.
What rating do Tampa players use?
NTRP, for most local play. USTA League teams use it, MP Tennis splits its ladders at 4.5, and Ultimate Tennis converts it into 13 local levels. The UTR flex leagues use UTR. Deuce accepts any of these, or a club level, and your first unrestricted challenge corrects a placement that is off.
How is a ladder different from a league?
A USTA league puts you on a team with a captain and a schedule set by the local coordinator. A flex league gives you a set number of matches in a season. A ladder gives you a rung and lets you choose whom to challenge, inside a response window and a play window. How it works has the detail.
What does it cost to join?
Nothing. Deuce Ladder is free for players right now. Court fees are separate: most City of Tampa hard courts are free, and Freedman’s clay costs $5.38 to $6.45 per player. Other local ladders and leagues charge their own fees. Browse open ladders on Discover, or read what players get.
How do I start a ladder in Tampa?
Apply as an organizer with ten players you can name, from a club, a USTA team, an office or a regular hitting group. Agree which courts you will use and who pays for them. We review the application before the ladder opens. Details are below and on the organizers page.
Start a ladder in Tampa
A Tampa ladder can grow out of a teaching pro’s clinic at one of the city parks or a USTA team that wants singles between seasons. An office downtown works too.
Settle the courts first. A group that plays on free city courts needs a plan for weeknights, because those courts close at sunset. A group that wants clay will pay for it, at Freedman or across the bay, so decide up front who covers the court.
You need ten players you can name. Twelve or more is better, because then you aren’t drawing the same opponent week after week. We review the application before the ladder opens. Once it’s approved, players can join and challenge the same day.
Sources and last verified
- City of Tampa Parks and Recreation: tennis, court reservations, fee schedule FY2026, Julian B. Lane Riverfront Park
- City of Temple Terrace: tennis, membership and guests
- Hillsborough County: tennis courts
- St. Petersburg Tennis Center: FAQs, home, leagues
- City of St. Petersburg: Bartlett Park, Fossil Park, court rentals, about St. Pete
- City of Clearwater: Henry L. McMullen Tennis Complex
- City of Largo: Largo Tennis Center
- City of Treasure Island: Treasure Bay tennis, court fees
- City of Dunedin: sports and courts
- MP Tennis Ladder, ladder rules, MP Tennis & Sports
- Tennis League Network: TennisTampaBay.com, how the league works
- Tampa Tennis Flex Leagues, UTR Sports
- Ultimate Tennis: Tampa Bay Area leagues, league rules
- USTA Florida: Hillsborough and Polk 2027 local rules, Pinellas County
- USTA: membership, NTRP FAQs, WTN and NTRP update
- Advantage Tampa Bay Tennis: play, join
- NOAA: 1991 to 2020 climate normals, Tampa International Airport, National Hurricane Center climatology
- National Weather Service: Tampa Bay rainy season, lightning safety outdoors
- Geographic data: US Census Bureau 2025 Gazetteer, Florida places, IANA time zone table
Last verified: October 29, 2026. Every source was checked before drafting, after the editorial pass, and again for publication.